Anyone that knows me well knows that Stephen King is my favorite writer.  I have always had a love for the macabre and during his career, King has taken the genre to bigger and more bizarre heights.  My favorite novel of all – not just King’s, but of all time – is “The Stand.”  If someone is looking for a creepier book than that, then the search is bound to be a long one.

Anyone who knows me well also knows that Jen and I got married at Niagara Falls on August 28, 1999 and we honeymooned in Maine.  We did not make King’s hometown of Bangor one of our stops, but we could have.  It just didn’t seem right to take that kind of a weird side trip.  This coming from the guy that insisted that one of our honeymoon stops be the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY.

Jen and I love to travel, but while I am trying to find steady work, our travels are essentially limited to going to see family and friends that are within reasonable driving distance.  Someday we intend to return to Maine and then we will make a point to go to Bangor and maybe catch a glimpse of King’s home.  Until then, I will continue to be one of many “Number 1 fans” that the “King of Macabre” has.

Now if I may be so bold, I will borrow some of King’s verbiage and ask you, “Constant Reader,” to enjoy this article about Mr. King.

Stephen King and Bangor a Matched Pair

By Ellen Creager, McClatchy-Tribune

August 10, 2010

BANGOR, Maine — The most famous celebrity in Maine is horror novelist Stephen King. He lives in Bangor on West Broadway Street.

The house is hard to miss. Some might call it burgundy red — or possibly blood red. The 19th-Century Victorian mansion is surrounded by a black wrought iron fence. The fence is emblazoned with bats and spider webs. You can drive by. You can even stop and take a picture. But don’t knock, don’t hang around, don’t come back a million times or try to look in the windows to see the author. That’s creepy.

I drove past only twice and sneaked a picture out the car window.

Read More Stephen King and Bangor a Matched Pair – chicagotribune.com.

