My wife and her friends are going through a rough time this week.  One of their own passed away far too soon.

Below is a repost of a blog written by one of my wife’s friends. It is a wonderful article that I think we can all learn from.  Before I turn the spotlight to that, I have a few words of my own. {Drew clears his throat.}

We all need to remember that we were put on this earth to help each other.  We are all in this thing together, but too often we get wrapped up in our own worlds.  We lose sight of the people dearest to us.  Hell, the person doesn’t even have to be that dear to us – it may be just someone you know, someone – as in this case – that you went to school with, worked with, attended church with, etc.

I’ve been through this kind of experience before – not necessarily the same circumstances as this classmate of my wife’s, but the death of a friend nonetheless.  I lost a close friend a little over a year ago.  Many times I have wondered if there was more I could have done for him.  I wonder if I left too many things unsaid.  I wonder how things would have been if I had more contact with him before the end.  I hadn’t seen him in a while – then I got word that he had died.  It sucked.  I can’t even remember the last time I talked to him.  I was so wrapped up in my own shit that reaching out to him hadn’t even been an option.

Anyway – my wife’s friend Karl has some words that I feel more people need to read and live by.  So I’ll shut up now and let him take over.  Karl – the stage is yours….

by Karl Tatgenhorst on June 24, 2010

Recently I passed up on an opportunity to be a friend to someone on my Facebook site. That someone later did something very drastic, would it have mattered if I had reached out to him? I don’t know, I can tell you it would have mattered to me.I was reading Facebook, as I always do, and I noticed a friend posting for legal advice about a sudden divorce. I thought how odd that he asked that as soon as it was going on, most might say “I might be getting a divorce” but not solicit legal advice.

via Be a Friend Not a Contact — Karl Tatgenhorst.

Share

